Toyota Mobility Foundation Chooses 6 Finalists for City Architecture of Tomorrow Challenge

Kuala Lumpur skyline

The Toyota Mobility Foundation (TMF) has chosen the six finalists for the City Architecture of Tomorrow Challenge (CATCH) being held in Kuala Lumpur, the capital city of Malaysia. The challenge addresses mobility and city planning challenges by engaging technology firms with data-driven solutions that would help Kuala Lumpur transition into a smart city.

“CATCH was designed to grasp groundbreaking innovations, and we were impressed by the ideas of 16 strong semi-finalists who showcased new data driven mobility and city planning focused solutions,” said Pras Ganesh, director of programs at TMF.  “Though it was very difficult to narrow down the selection, as Toyota Mobility Foundation, we are very excited about the six Finalists and what they can deliver in the Minimum Viable Product (MVP) stage to improve the quality of life of the residents of Kuala Lumpur.”

The finalists include:

  • GeoSpock – a spatial big data platform company that provides analytics, visualization, and builds insight to optimize advanced, multimodal transport;
  • Hayden AI Technologies  – an artificial intelligence-powered data collection platform used to improve traffic safety and efficiency;
  • KERB – a P2P/B2B parking management platform to increase parking supply around transport hubs, track real-time data, and optimize commuters’ journeys;
  • Liftango – an on-demand shared transport system;
  • Numina  – pedestrian counting technology aimed at improving pedestrian safety; and,
  • RUNWITHIT Synthetics – a synthetic model called Synthetic KL, for designing targeted, impactful mobility solutions.

The six finalists will be further developing their solutions, and at this stage each will receive a grant of $125,000 for testing and implementation. They’ll have the opportunity to work with Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL), TMF, the Malaysia Digital Economy Corporation (MDEC), and its data partners – Prasarana, MapIT, and Grab. A final winner will be chosen in April-May of 2021.